Lab Results #8: The Debriefing of a Library Technician in Training

Standard

Today’s Multimedia debriefing is brought to you by: cherry tea and the lab set out by my teacher. Oh and the Winnipeg Transit Bus drivers who got me to school on time! Cause if they didn’t that would be disasterous.

When I first opened the lab I blinked for a second trying to remember what the heck Social book marking is then I realized that I have never heard of it! It was a bit of a shocker since I am always on the computer or reading; woulda thought it would have come up at some point. As my eyes wandered across the words of the first activity I suddenly realized what Social Bookmarking is and I did a mental facepalm. Then groaned under my breath.

1- Define social bookmarking in your own words.

Social Bookmarking is a simple form of saving relevant websites to a sharing site such as Delicious, Digg or Reddit. These websites are open to share world wide so there is a continous stream of new websites that are interesting and fun when you search with a keyword or tag.

For example: if I searched for “book reviews” or “libraries” then all articles that have been tagged with those words will be brought into view.

Pretty sweet eh?

2- Have you or do you use social bookmarking?

I have not used social bookmarking but I have a friend who do and it seems to help her. I know that I have a lot of websites that I frequent, and frequently forget, so it may be an advantage for me. Its scary how many sites I have in my bookmark…just thinking about it makes my head spin!

a- If you have used it, what did you use it for?

Uh…I don’t use it but my friends do. One of my friends, the head librarian technician at my highschool, uses it to bookmark sites that give good book reviews, articles that are related to libraries, and overall just about everything that catches her eye.

If Pintrest is considered a social bookmarking site then I have used a social bookmarking site.

b- If you haven’t used it before, do you think you might start using it now, and in what context?

I am seriously considering using Delicious but Digg also has some interesting posts that I have been looking through. StumbleUpon in my opinion seems to be a site layed out like Delicious. Though Delicious seems to be more mobile because I can load the app onto my ipod touch. Though it would only work when I have a wireless connection…

I would be using Delicious, or whatever social bookmarking site I choose, in a variety of ways because I am a munchkin of many interests. Articles related to books (reviews, movies turned from books, etc), writing (NaNoWriMo, tutorials, advice, critiques, etc) craftiness like crochetting and knitting. Overall I would use it for more than what I have just listed.

I suppose, since this is a school assignment, that I would use it for school assignments when I need information on a subject which is related to Library and Information Technology Science. Search Library and maybe something will pop up.

3- How could social bookmarking be useful or beneficial to patrons and staff in libraries?

I think that social bookmarking would be useful for both patrons and the staff of libraries because it opens the doors to a much broader source of information not just locally but world wide. Although the information may be broader by range that does not mean library staff are unable to retrieve more specific information.

With the help of tags libraries can breathe new articles with information into the face of the patrons. These are articles are ones that patrons can use with the knowledge that it has been read over with a critical eye. Libraries can also use the articles to further and expand its reach. Plus there are a great deal of benefits to see what is happening all over the world in other libraries.

Leave a Reply

