Thank god my NaNoWriMo Notebook is Part of my Plan

Standard

You know how things just DO NOT work out in your favour when something so important to you just decides to blow itself up and leave you broken fingered??

That is just what happened to my word count. Almost got to 10,000 then BAM. I had to hang my head when I typed in the dreaded “0” into my update word count box.

Not even an hour ago. FML to the MAX.

So now you are probably wanting to know what the hell happend.

In short I figured out that liquid story binder looks cool but unless you want to be reading a 50+ page how to manual (which I really don’t want to) you are going to be having a hell of a time trying to get what you want done. In short: my Liquid Story Board went belly up, screwing over all that I had typed into it, I wasn’t able to fix it. I had to do the unthinkable.

I uninstalled the program.

On my last post, Freshest Scene First, I had a commenter who asked me why I don’t use Scrivener’s NaNoWriMo Free Trial? When I responded I mentioned something along the lines of how it would be my luck that at the end of NaNoWriMo I would forget to save it all to a word document and all would be lost.

I guess I didn’t foresee this happening in my very distant (now past) future.

Thankfully I didn’t loose everything that I had written. My NaNoWriMo Notebook did have some of the scenes fully written out. These are the scenes which I had been writing on the bus as I went from school to home, school to library, and home to everywhere else. So now I am busy retyping up all my written words onto Scivener in order to get my ass back on track but I will still have to be having to redo everything that I had lost.

I actually quite like the program. It really has grown on me. Many of the features that it provides are what I have been wanting for a long time. This includes cue-cards. Seriously just because they have cue-cards I am loving it. I can write a quick summary of what I want to have happen in the scene then BLAM! I can go back and write it out fully.

Freaking perfect and it saves a lot of my money with not having to go out buying colourful cue-cards.

In short: Scivener is what I am working with now, but I still hold my Word program very close.

9 responses »

  1. I tried scrivener, but couldn’t get it to act right, the tabs are doubled and I couldn’t fix it. Nina is easily frustrated by these things. So I went back to MS Word, she’s never failed me before I don’t know why I cheated on her.
    Love and Hugs!

    • MS Word is always there for me too! I just feel like I need a change in pace.
      To be honest I am just playing around with scrivener to the point where I feel comfortable. There are some elements that I like such as the cue cards.
      Hope your NaNoWriMo2013 is going great!
      xx E. Munchkin

  2. Sorry to hear your tech problem! I back up and also have a notebook – with a vague plan and story map. I had a nightmare last night that something happened to mine – 12000 + words in. I woke in a sweat!
    Thanks for the related article.

    Good luck with catching back up on your word count.

    • Thank you, I’m back in business with a different program though.
      Notebooks are very handy and cool because you can make them look awesome every year!
      I had that right at the beginning of the month, first or second day, and my boyfriend even said that I had been screaming a little. So glad I don’t remember what I was dreaming about…but it obviously had to do with NaNoWriMo.
      Thank you. Its a long struggle but I am trying to put in as much time and words as I can whenever possible. Even if its just five minutes and I can only get about 50 – 75 words in. I haven’t even updated my word count in a couple days (as you may have noticed on the little calendar at up above).
      Thank you for your kind words!

    • That is why I write just about everything in a notebook. Except last night when I was getting sleepy and it took more effort to use the pencil to paper method than the fingertip to keyboard.
      Best part of this is that it happened during one of my classes at school. Probably the worst place for me to feel like crying, bawling, and wanting to check my laptop at my teacher. Not really. Just joking. Sorta. Hehe.

  3. Pingback: New Reader format feedback There have been a… | Another test blog

Leave a Reply

