Bring it on, November. Bring it on!

Standard

2013 NaNoWriMo has been the years in the making.

I never knew it though.

The moment of *AHA!* had been at my favourite table, beneath my favourite poster, in my favorit library while I was working on homework (half heartedly at best).

(My homework was a cataloguing assignment for one of my classes)

“A book is a dream that you hold in your hands (explore your dreams)”

This quote, originally from Neil Gaiman (author of Coraline and Stardust), has sparked the world rumble for this years NaNoWriMo novel.

After staring at the poster, which features the Sandman holding a book that has books flying from inside of it, it got me wondering: What would happen if you could not dream? Would it be possible to regain the ability to dream? If it is how would I go about it and who would I talk to?

These are the questions which led me to the semi-basis for my novel planning. Then I thought up my first plot twist: what happened if I could not read OR dream? How would I go about getting through school, life, be able to decide on a career? What would cause me to be unable to read?

So I started texting my bestie and together we started to answer some of the questions. One of the things that was decided, well she coaxed me into doing because her ideas are always awesome, that there would be a bit more romance than I had anticipated in the beginning when I was mulling this idea over at the library.

Its quite satifying to see, with the help of her, that my NaNoWriMo novel will be getting up off its unstable word wings way before November. I even went online to my pintrest account to search NaNoWriMo and found some amazing character profile sheets as well as plotting materials that are almost like cue cards. The plotting materials even give examples of how to use them which I love. I absolutely wish that I could go back and link all those wonderful sources but my recomendation is:

  1. If you have a pintrest account: Search on pintrest “NaNoWriMo” and EVERYTHING will pop up there, remember to explore all the articles from the blogs since they do have wonderful links themselves.
  2. Just search on google “NaNoWriMo” “Pintrest” and you should find some links
  3. Try searching on NaNoWriMo without the account and see what you can get.

I really loved searching on there. When I get around to it I will link up my pintrest account to my blog and you can go through there to find the lovely resources that I had found earlier yesterday evening.

What are your favourite resources for NaNoWriMo? How do YOU plan out your novel? Are you going to be competing this year? Remember you can add me on NaNoWriMo (Moonlight Raven) and we can be writing buddies.

xx Emerald Munchkin xx

2 responses »

  1. The more I read about NaNoWriMo the more I wonder if I should join in. I have two writer friends who are doing it this year, and I’m planning on being their cheerleader. Hmmm…maybe next year? Anyway, good luck to you on your NaNoWriMo journey this year!

    • NaNoWriMo does seem to be getting more attention this year than I have seen in last few years I have been doing it. Maybe this year while you cheer you could start planning a possible outline for a future NaNoWriMo? There are many wonderful resources out there on the world wide web.
      If you do go with it next year just go with it and have a lot of fun.
      Thank you very much for the luck *grabs onto luck and holds onto it*

Leave a Reply

