Pen [Check], Paper [Check], Hit the Words!

Standard

Once again I am taking the absolutely crazy challenge of NaNoWriMo (50000 words in 30/30 nights and days). This will be my third year participating in this event.

My friends think I am going nuttier every year I do it.

This year I have armed myself with a different medium called Liquid Story Binder. I found out about it while reading “NaNo Prep and Writing Kalla” earlier this morning. Thanks to Amber I immediately searched for the program on Google, found it, and now its downloaded onto my computer. They also give a handy-dandy user guide on how to use the program. If you are unsure about downloading the program just read the user manual first.

Or be like me and download the whole shebang before reading a lick of words.

That is pretty as much as far as prepping materials, besides my usual collection of paper, pencils and notebooks.

Unlike my previous years of participating in NaNoWrimo this year where I have been a pantser this year I am actually trying to be an prepper. Which when you get to know me is a seriously laughable idea. I do not do “organized” or “clean” or “neat” or…well you get the idea. But now you all can cheer me on (or egg me for not getting  the word goal, your choice) because I have added NaNoWriMo widgets on the top left of my blog page! *cheers, confetti*

What else can I say? *thinks for a moment*

I will be honest and tell you that I have a faint seed for my story. I know the main characters meet in a bookstore. October will be my planning month. I am looking forward to the weird searches that I will be doing.

If you are a NaNoWriMo participant this year please add me! I’m Moonlight Raven. Mike, over at mikecoville.wordpress.com (see related links) is also adding buddies onto NaNoWriMo! Stephanie, over at ramblingsofayoungwriter.wordpress.com (see related links) will also add you to her buddies on NaNoWriMo. Another Munchkin (WOOT!) has posted a blog entry about NaNoWriMo so go check her out (in the related links) as well as a few other links that I am adding down here for your enjoyment and further knowledge!

Are you going to be doing NaNoWriMo this year? Have you done NaNoWriMo in the past? What ideas have you been spinning around in your head that could make a lovely story? Comment down below!

Happy Writing!

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: Another cool NaNo perk | Run4joy59's Blog

  2. I’m a NaNoWriMo virgin, but I’m going to give it a go this year. I think 50,000 words will be about half my novel, so I’m calling it MyHaNoWriMo, which I think has a nice ring… October will be my planning month too – good luck!

    • I recommend if you havn’t done NaNoWriMo in the past that you make a light sketch/outline of what you want to have happened. If you need someone to talk about or discuss I am here. I have continued to make the mistake of not planning out my stories, or at least scenes, and by the middle of the month I have just quit the whole thing and started a fresh.
      Do you have an idea on what you will be doing?

      • Yes I have an idea, but it’s still fairly hazy. I’m aiming to finish the outline and some character summaries/storylines before the end of Oct. Thanks very much for the offer – same goes for me if you’d like to discuss your plans.

        • Thank you!
          I have decided on a title for my unplanned novel. I took it from a bandposter advertising a local concert near my college.
          I am going to look at some pictures and see if I can pull some inspiration from this weekend.
          Where did you find inspiration?

          • What a brilliant way to find inspiration!

            I’m not sure where my idea came from really – I think probably a combination of stories I’ve enjoyed, together with an idea prompted by the birth of a son to one of my friends. There were a few issues with her boyfriend when they first got together and, without going into details, I suggested that she shouldn’t put him under too much pressure and see how things developed. A few months later, she told me that things were going really well and she was pleased she’d listened to my advice. I doubt really whether it was my advice that made any difference – but it did make me think that, without that conversation, there was a chance they might have split up and that little boy might never have been born. That made me think more generally about the consequences our actions have on other people, sometimes without our even being aware of it. And that, in turn, reminded me of the Mitch Albom book, “The Five People You Meet In Heaven,” where one of the characters is – through a series of consequences – responsible for a man’s death. He doesn’t know the man and there’s no way he’ll ever find out what his carelessness eventually caused. To cut a long explanation short (too late, I know!) it made me wonder what would happen if someone affected by the death – a relative, say – did know about the connection and held this person responsible (even if it wasn’t really reasonable to do that). That’s what my story is going to explore.

            My friend’s son is now about two years old, though, so the idea has been a while in fermenting! And it wasn’t quite the linear process this description suggests. The creative process is a difficult thing to understand, I think!

Leave a Reply

