Would You like some Cheese with the Quack?

Standard

Every student has one, or multiple, teachers who have some sort of “tick” or unique quality that helps them stick out from the crowd of teachers who will be roaming in and out during one’s school career. I’ve had plenty of them.

  • In middleschool:
    • My english teacher for grade seven would take out his guitar and start playing it during our spelling tests. His reason? He wanted us to be distracted so that when he was forced to mark our tests (which would normally take him months!) he would have some amusement
      We didn’t know if he was serious or not. To this day, I still don’t know.
  • In highschool:
    • My history teacher was an amazing man. His patience span was outstanding and he was always willing to give free marks. He was also very inclined to getting off topic and following a bunny trail better than Alice could!
    • My english teacher was known to flip desks in the middle of class so we would pay attention. He also made us read a banned book, “To Kill a Mocking Bird” which I found extremely awesome.
    • My english teacher introduced me to “The Importance of Being Earnest” by Oscar Wilde which I found humorous.
      • He is also the teacher who spurred on my love for writing and reading during class (even though I technically wasn’t supposed ta.)
      • He is one of the few people I don’t mind getting into a Football (Soccer for you Americans) debate about our favorite teams!
  • In first year of university:
    • Professor Canoli: This professor taught me my first semester English class and I was very close to dropping it.
      • First off I never could say his name so I kept calling him something that was close to it.
      • Second off I have never met someone who decided that “Salome” by Oscar Wilde was a cultural shaping text like Canoli did.
        • I’ve asked anyone else and they give me this look, “What the hell?”
        • Don’t even ask how many essays he made us do about this specific story or essays where we had to compare it to another book…of his choosing…bleh.
      • Third off you could completely tell he was mentally translating what was going on in class between french and english. It was funny when he would stop in the middle of class to translate…silently…in his head.

Now, obviously I have had some interesting teachers who have made me laugh or supported me in whatever endeavor. I’ve also had some teachers (not listed) that have been my support system through my many years of school.

So this brings me to my current Business Computer teacher here in my Librarian Technician course.

I have NEVER, EVER, EVER had a teacher who IN THE MIDDLE of class…

Quacks.

Yes. Quacks. Like a duck. He quacked three times in a row yesterday! And quacks probably one a class. Its crazy and we are not sure if he is trying to clear his throat or…just trying to be a duck.

He also likes to say that everything has to do with marriage (how???) and that we have to get used to everything because its permanent, just like marriage.

Trust me, our class doesn’t even know what to make of this teacher.

6 responses »

    • Don’t be sorry, its a general agreement in my class that Mr Quack (my nickname for him) is quackers. And very particular about the point where he will quack.
      Today there was no quacking though.

        • That is a possiblity, but I doubt it. He also does this hissing sound…like a goose or a duck. Do ducks hiss? Cause man if they don’t…the whole Quack thing is going to the ducks!
          Some days it is like waiting with baited breath for the next quack. Those days it feels like I need to have a bag of crumbled bread so that I can toss it to him .
          Today class did find out that he is very particular on how one uses Microsoft Office 2010. That’s when he hissed at me when I tried to explain why I did what I typed into the computer. Not going to lie…it was a little terrifying.

          • The hissing does sound a bit concerning. Never heard of ducks hissing. Geese, yes. Perhaps it was a goose he was going for all along – could his quack have been meant to be a honk? If he starts getting you to enter class in a V formation, I think you might have to change your diagnosis…

          • *falls over laughing*
            It’s bad enough that we travel in two small classes for all or classes and we tend to walk in a line with someone leading us to our next class.
            I’ll keep that in mind. Don’t know how much the college nurse can do for him if he does.

Leave a Reply

